Plaza Frontenac | 1701 S Lindbergh, Ste 232 | Saint Louis MO 63131 | T 314.692.9877 | F 314.692.9887
Soleil is the fourth location for Erker’s, which also has stores at 9717 Clayton Road in Ladue and at 908 Olive St. in downtown St. Louis. The Erker family opened Eye Roc Eyewear at 28 Maryland Plaza in the Central West End two years ago.
The Ladue location had recently been seeing an uptick in sunglass sales, with sunglasses representing about 20 percent of the business. Overall, the family business has been growing 20 percent, year over year, for the past three years.
A lot of the vendors we use currently are coming out with some great sunglass styles, which we haven’t gone deep with.
The new store will also do prescription sunglasses.
The family-owned business was started in 1879 by A.P. Erker, whose great-grandson Jack Erker Jr. is part of the current ownership. With a rich history, Erker Brothers Optical Co. bills itself as the first optical laboratory west of the Mississippi River and custom-designed the goggles worn by Charles Lindbergh in his flight over the Atlantic Ocean.
In 2006, Jack Erker Jr. and sons Jack III and Tony established a wholesale division, Studio Optyx, a design company that manufactures and distributes its own eyewear.